General Research and Encyclopedias
> First Search
> MasterFILE Premier
> Virtual Reference

Biography, History and Genealogy
> Biography Reference Center
> Heritage Quest
> History Reference Center

Books and Literature
> Literary Reference Center
> Novelist Plus

Health and Science
> Consumer Health Complete
> Science Reference Center
> World Book Enciclopedia
> World Book Online for Kids
> World Book Online IF

News
> MasterFILE Premier
> Newspaper Source

Homework - Children
> Middle Search Plus
> Science Resource Center
> World Book Enciclopedia
> World Book - Kids
> World Book Online IF

Homework - Teens
> MAS Ultra - School Edition
> Middle Search Plus
> Points of View Reference
> World Book Enciclopedia
> World Book Online IF

Professional Development
> Development Collection

Repair Manuals & Hobbies
> Auto Repair Reference
> Home Improvement Center
> Small Engine Repair

Database Subscriptions

Acorn Public Library District currently subscribes to the databases below. This page is only a preview. Once you click on a database link, you may need to login with your current library card number to access the database.

General Research & Encyclopedias

Worldcat Logo

First Search *Note you will need authorization!

*Authorization: 100-108-362 Password: acornoclc

A group of 14 databases which include:

EBSCO MasterFILE Premier Logo

MasterFILE Premier (Ebsco): Contains the full text of thousands of periodicals, reference books and primary source documents, covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.

Gale Virtual Reference Logo

Virtual Reference (Gale): Provides encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources across a vast range of disciplines.

Biography History and Genealogy

Biography Reference Center Logo

Biography Reference Center (Ebsco): Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography Magazine.

Heritage Quest Logo

HeritageQuest
This genealogy database includes the U.S. Census (1790-1930), local history books and articles, Revolutionary War records, and more.

Ebsco Main Logo

History Reference Center (Ebsco): A comprehensive history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. Includes full-text reference books, primary sources, and biographies.

Books & Literature

EBSCO Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center (Ebsco): Provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and eras. Includes biographies, book reviews, criticism, and synopses from authoritative reference sources, journals, and original analysis.

EBSCO NoveList Plus Logo

NoveList Plus (Ebsco): Electronic readers' advisory resource which assists fiction and non-fiction readers in finding new authors and titles. Also features book discussion guides, summaries, and recommendations. This database serves both children and adults.

Health and Science

EBSCO Consumer Health Complete Logo

Consumer Health Complete (Ebsco): Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness including mainstream medicine and complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine.

EBSCO Science Reference Center Logo

Science Reference Center (Ebsco): Provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Science in Context Logo

Science in Context (Gale): A curriculum-oriented science database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. Includes earth science, technology, history of science, science as inquiry, life sciences, physical sciences, and more.

News

EBSCO MasterFILE Premier Logo

MasterFILE Premier (Ebsco): Contains full-text articles from thousands of periodicals, reference books and primary source documents. This database covers general reference, business, health, education, science, multicultural issues, and much more.

EBSCO Newspaper Source Logo

Newspaper Source (Ebsco): Provides cover-to-cover full-text for 185 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, as well as selective coverage of regional and televised news sources.

Homework Help for Children

Middle Search Plus (Ebsco): Provides full text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and junior high school research.

Gale Science in Context Logo

Science in Context (Gale): An in-depth, curriculum-oriented science database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. Includes earth science, technology, history of science, science as inquiry, life sciences, physical sciences, and much more.

World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book): Este recurso ofrece un contenido editorial excelente World Book y multimedia en español.

World Book Online for Kids

World Book Online for Kids (World Book): An online encyclopedia offering easy-to-read articles and a wealth of engaging multimedia, games, science projects, interactive tools, and activities.

World Book Online for Kids

World Book Online Info Finder (World Book): World Book Online Info Finder is designed for students aged 5th grade and up. Search encyclopedia articles, multimedia collections, maps, primary source documents, e-books and more. Also includes research tools and science projects.

Homework Help for Teens & Adults

EBSCO MAS Ultra Logo

Magazine Article Summaries: Ultra School Edition (Ebsco): Designed for high school students, this comprehensive database contains full-text articles from more than 500 popular magazines, as well as many reference works and primary sources.

EBSCO Middle Search Logo

Middle Search Plus (Ebsco): Provides full text for nearly 140 popular magazines for middle and junior high school research.

EBSCO Points of View Reference Center Logo

Points of View Reference Center (Ebsco): A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of current issues.

World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos (World Book): Este recurso ofrece un contenido editorial excelente World Book y multimedia en español.

World Book Online for Kids

World Book Online Info Finder (World Book): World Book Online Info Finder is designed for students aged 5th grade and up. Search encyclopedia articles, multimedia collections, maps, primary source documents, e-books and more. Also includes research tools and science projects.

Professional Development

EBSCO Professional Development Collection Logo

Professional Development Collection (Ebsco): Provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for educators, librarians, and researchers.

Repair Manuals & Hobbies

EBSCO Auto Repair Reference Center Logo

Auto Repair Reference Center (Ebsco): Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954. New repair procedures and updates are added continuously.

EBSCO Home Improvement Reference Center Logo

Home Improvement Reference Center (Ebsco): An online tool for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc.

EBSCO Small Engine Repair Image

Small Engine Repair Reference Center (Ebsco): This comprehensive resource contains full-text reference books with photos and illustrations to guide patrons though their mower, motorcycle, boat, ATV, generator, snowblower, tiller, and other small engine repairs.